The least serious assault offense under Ohio law is the crime of “simple” Assault. There are two ways the crime of “simple” Assault can be committed in Ohio:
- by knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to another, and
- by recklessly causing serious physical harm to another.
Simple Assault is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by a sentence of up to 180 days in jail. However, if the alleged victim of the assault is a police officer, firefighter, or emergency medical official, while in the performance of their official duties, then the offense of “simple” Assault is a felony of the fourth degree, punishable by a definite term of imprisonment of up to either 6, 12, or 18 months.
Common defenses to the charge of “simple” Assault are: (1) misidentification; (2) self-defense; (3) mistake; and (4) in some cases a parent may assert the defense of domestic authority, which allows a parent to use reasonable force to discipline a child.
If you or a loved one is under investigation, or has been charged with, the offense of Assault in Columbus or central Ohio, then immediately contact an experienced Columbus Criminal Defense Attorney to learn how to best defend the charge. Our attorneys have a proven record trying and winning cases in which our clients have faced various types of Assault charges.Related Posts