Columbus Arson and Aggravated Arson Charges

Fire Investigators Scene Dig

There are 2 types of Arson offenses that can be charged in Ohio:  (1) Aggravated Arson, and (2) Arson.  Both types require the use of fire or explosion to cause harm, or create substantial risk of harm, to person(s) or property.  Both are classified as offenses of violence by the Ohio Revised Code.  Lawyers from our Columbus law firm have successfully defended Arson cases throughout Ohio.

Aggravated Arson

The offense of Aggravated Arson is defined in Section 2909.02 of the Ohio Revised Code  and can be classified as either a first or second degree felony.

If the fire or explosion was (1) committed for hire and created a substantial risk of serious physical harm to an occupied structure, or (2) created a substantial risk of serious physical harm to a person other than the accused, then the Aggravated Arson offense is a first degree felony, and is punishable by up to $20,000.00 in fines and up to 11 years imprisonment, or both.

If the fire or explosion caused physical harm to an occupied structure, but the offense was not committed for hire, and did not create a substantial risk of serious physical harm to any person (other than the offender), then the Aggravated Arson offense is a second degree felony, and is punishable by up to $15,000.00 in fines and up to 8 years imprisonment, or both.

Arson

The offense of Arson is defined in Section 2909.03 of the Ohio Revised Code  and can be classified as a third degree felony, a fourth degree felony, or a first degree misdemeanor.

If an offender caused harm, or created a substantial risk of harm, to the property of another by means of fire or explosion, and committed it with a purpose to defraud  (such as by filing a false insurance claim) then the Arson is a third degree felony, punishable by up to $10,000.00 in fines and up to 36 months imprisonment, or both.

If the offender did not act with purpose to defraud, but the value of the property involved was $1,000.00 or more, then the Arson is a fourth degree felony, punishable by up to $5,000.00 in fines and up to 18 months imprisonment, or both.

If the offender did not act with purpose to defraud, and the value of the property involved Is less than $1,000.00, then the Arson is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to $1,000.00 in fines and up to 6 months in jail, or both.

Get Help From an Attorney

Our law firm has a proven record of success defending Arson cases across Ohio.   Learn how we can help.  Call one of our Columbus criminal defense lawyers at 614-454-5010 for a free consultation.