Charges for Menacing in Ohio

Types of Menacing Charges in Ohio

In Ohio, a menacing charge means a person is alleged to have threatened physical harm against another person or against their property. There are 3 types of menacing charges in Ohio: (1) Menacing; (2) Menacing by Stalking; and (3) Aggravated Menacing.

Menacing

Menacing occurs when an accused person knowingly causes an alleged victim to believe that the accused will cause physical harm to the alleged victim or to his or her property. Section 2903.22 of the Ohio Revised Code defines menacing more specifically. Also, menacing can be classified as either a misdemeanor of the fourth degree or a felony of the fourth degree.

A fourth degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to $250.00 in fines, 30 days in jail, or both. A fourth degree felony is punishable by up to $5,000.00 in fines, 18 months imprisonment, or both.

Menacing by Stalking

Menacing by stalking occurs when an accused person engages in a pattern of conduct that frightens another to believe that the accused will cause physical harm or mental distress to the alleged victim. Section 2903.211 of the Ohio Revised Code explains menacing by stalking more specifically. This offense can be classified as either a first degree misdemeanor or fourth degree felony.

A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to $1,000.00 in fines, 180 days in jail, or both. A fourth degree felony is punishable by up to $5,000.00 in fines, 18 months imprisonment, or both.

Aggravated Menacing

Aggravated menacing occurs when an accused person knowingly causes an alleged victim to believe that the accused will cause serious physical harm to the alleged victim or to his or her property. Section 2903.21 of the Ohio Revised Code defines aggravated menacing more specifically. The offense also can be classified as a misdemeanor of the first degree or felony of the fifth or fourth degree.

A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to $1,000.00 in fines, 180 days in jail, or both. A fifth degree felony is punishable by up to $2,500.00 in fines, 12 months imprisonment, or both. A fourth degree felony is punishable by up to $5,000.00 in fines, 18 months imprisonment, or both.

 

If were charged with menacing, you cannot afford to defend yourself or work with an attorney that does not have a history of winning cases. Hire a team of lawyers who will help drop the charges. Contact Koenig & Long by calling (614) 454-5010 or filling out our online contact form and let us fight for you! We offer a free initial consultation.