What if you’re arrested for Vehicular Manslaughter in Columbus, Ohio?/ February 12, 2014
What is the crime of Vehicular Manslaughter in Ohio? If the prosecution can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you caused the death of another as the direct result of committing a minor misdemeanor traffic violation, then you can be convicted of the Ohio crime of Vehicular Manslaughter. Ohio Rev. Code § 2903.06(A)(4). Common Minor Misdemeanor traffic violations in Ohio include failing to yield the right of way, failing to signal, failing to maintain an assured clear distance ahead, failure to control, and running a red light.
Vehicular Manslaughter is a misdemeanor of the second degree. However, if the person did not have a valid driver’s license at the time of the offense or if the person has previously been convicted of any traffic-related homicide, manslaughter, or assault offense, it is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
If treated as a misdemeanor of the second degree, the offense carries a potential penalty of up to 90 days in jail. If treated as a misdemeanor of the first degree, the offense carries a potential penalty of up to 180 days in jail. In addition to a potential jail term, there is a mandatory class six driver’s license suspension (3 months to 2 years), and, depending on the circumstances, a potential class four suspension. Fines, court costs, and restitution could also be assessed at sentencing.
If you have been arrested or charged with Vehicular Manslaughter or any other serious vehicular crime in Columbus or elsewhere in Ohio, please call an experienced criminal defense lawyer from our Columbus law firm at 614-454-5010 for a free initial consultation.Related Posts