Drunk Driving Under 21
Ohio, like every other state, requires that a person be 21 years of age before they can buy, possess, or consume alcohol. Like many other states, Ohio has a “zero tolerance” law when it comes to drunk driving under age 21.
A person under age 21 who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .02% will be charged with operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVUAC) and face up to 30 days in jail, a $250 fine, and a 2 year driver’s license suspension.
This is why it is so important to contact a DUI attorney in Columbus when facing DUI charges as a minor.
Operating Vehicle After Under Age Consumption OVUAC
If the underage person refuses to submit to a chemical test, or does take a chemical test and has a BAC of .08% or greater, they will be charged with OVI and face the same penalties as anyone else.
If you have been arrested for underage drunk driving, contact a OVI defense immediately so we may begin an aggressive defense strategy to counter your charges. Being convicted of a DUI as a minor will carry serious consequences for you for some time and should be avoided at all costs.
It takes a professional drunk driving attorney with the expertise developed through experience to pursue every possible legal strategy in fighting your charges. There are numerous possible defenses that can be used in your behalf, from challenging the initial stop, your arrest and even the field sobriety tests or alcohol testing procedure.
Underage Drunk Driving Lawyer
With over 25 years of experience in criminal defense, Koenig & Owen has helped numerous clients to fight their DUI charges and obtain a dismissal or lesser charge.
Let our experienced legal team of drunk driving attorney help you develop a strong defense that will seek to exonerate you of all charges. The consequences of a conviction can lead to license suspension, harsh fines and even jail time.
Contact an Attorney when facing DUI charges as a minor.